My love of Cupcakes

 

Cupcakes. I love cupcakes. If I could eat cupcakes for breakfast, lunch and dinner (and not be the size of a house) I would gladly do so. My love of Cupcakes reached epic proportions when I was living in London. I found some really cute cupcake shops and would got there regularly. If I had to pick a favourite it would have to be the Red Velvet Cupcakes from Hummingbird Bakery. Oh my goodness, they are amazing. They are one of the many things I miss about London. I worked at a theatre in Covent Garden and the direction I came from meant I walked past Primrose Bakery everyday on my way to work. So as a result, I stopped in for a cupcake at least one a week. So tasty. Yummy cupcakes in really cute little stores… I love it!!

 

hummingbird-bakery-soho02-AC2DA7
Hummingbird Bakery Soho

 

I have been baking cupcakes for years and always thought they tasted really good, not as good as the ones from Hummingbird, but for homemade I thought they were great. That was until my friend Sarah, (check out her baking and cooking blog myfoodmywayblog) introduced me to oil and yoghurt based cupcake recipes. They changed my life, I swear they were that good. I immediately asked for the recipe and couldn’t wait to make a batch of my own. The only downside is that in order to make them you need to be organised to make the batter a good few hours before you bake them. Ideally I try to make the batter the night before, but if you’re not that organised you can make the batter in the morning and bake them that evening. They may take a bit of planning, but I promise you that are worth the extra effort and wait.

 

primrose
Primrose Bakery Covent Garden

I have baked a lot of cupcakes in my time, and each time I bake I often learn something new about the process. For example how the batter reacts in the cooler months compared to the warmer and that my oven has distinct hot and cold spots. One huge realisation for me several weeks ago was weighing each of my cupcakes before baking. This may sound like a crazy idea, but its not. I have used spooning in the batter method and also pipping in the batter, but my cupcakes always varied in size. Now I make sure to weigh each one before baking and it gives me a much more uniform batch of cupcakes. Do your self a favour and give it a try next time you’re bake a batch of cupcakes 🙂

 

 

12108023_10156220687000697_8822229751102916699_n
Cupcake weighing

Some of my previous cupcakes as shown below. I took both of these batches into work and they lasted all of five mins! Both are oil based, the Easter Egg ones are Vanilla and the second are mini Death by Chocolate Cupcakes. Several peopled asked for the recipe and a few even said they were the best cupcakes they have ever eaten. So I think both batches were a huge success. Just need to work on my styling and photography skills.

10262033_10154001100960697_5824255709770877390_n
Vanilla
11222534_10155652625820697_2226010286004073776_n
Mini Death by Chocolate

 

I’ll start posting some cupcake recipes soon. Can’t wait to do some baking and try and practise my photography skills, because as you can see, I need the practise.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

