Rainbow Cookies

I love eating cookies. Everything from chocolate chip to ANZAC Cookies, but for some reason when it comes to baking, they are never something I seem to make. I tend to always bake cupcakes or slices, never cookies. So today I thought I would change that. I logged on to Taste where I tend to get a lot of my recipes and ideas from. I typed in cookies and a pic of some really cute cookies with a Freckle in the middle popped up. They looked super cute so I thought I would give them a go.

 

Rainbow cookies

Ingredients

250g Butter, room temperature

1 Cup of brown sugar

1/2 Cup of caster sugar

3 Teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 Eggs

2 3/4 Cups of plain flour

1 Teaspoon of baking powder

200g Packet of chocolate freckles

 

 

IMG_3997.JPG

Method

Pre heat oven to 180C/160C fan-forced.

Line3 large baking trays with baking paper

Beat the butter, both sugars and vanilla extract in an electric mixer (as usual I used my fabulous bright pink Kitchen Aid) until the mixture becomes light and fluffy.

Carefully add one egg at a time, beat well making sure the eggs are well combined. Always make sure to start your mixer on low every time you add in a new ingredient. You don’t want your mixture going every where!

Sift your flour and baking powder. Add approximately 1/2 cup at a time to the butter mixture, combine well with a wooden spoon. Once you have added all the flour and baking powder mix well with a wooden spoon until well combined.

You might remember from my cupcake post I like to weigh my mixture before baking. I did the same with these cookies. That way helps to achieve a more even bake. I rolled approximately 20gs of mixture in round balls and placed them on my prepare baking tray. When placing your dough balls on your tray, allow space for spreading.

Place 1 freckle in the centre of each dough ball and press down gently.

Bake for about 12-15mins. As my oven has hot and cold spots I usually set my timer for half the amount of time required, turn the trays around then re setting the timer for the remainder of the time.

Recipe adapted from Rainbow Cookies from http://www.taste.com.au/

 

 

IMG_3990.JPG

So there you have it. Really simple and yummy Rainbow Cookies. I feel my photography skills are improving ever so slightly. Not happy with the lighting in some of the pics but overall I think I’m getting better. Now just have to work on improving my food styling skills 🙂

 

Happy baking 🙂

 

IMG_3948.JPG

IMG_3980.JPG

6 thoughts on “Rainbow Cookies

Leave a Reply

