Sugar Cookies

After the recent success of my Rainbow Cookies, I thought I would give baking cookies another go. This time however I wanted to make a batch of roll cookies for something different. Last week I bought some really cute fondant/cookies cutters and I really wanted to give them a try. Over Christmas I noticed that Sugar Cookies seemed to be a popular thing to bake. They were on just about every baking blog I read and I almost all the December baking magazines. They seemed like the perfect thing to bake especially as I already had all the ingredients at home and didn’t have to venture out to the shops.

Half way through making them I realised why they were so popular at Christmas, most of the baking  blogs I follow are from people in the northern hemisphere, where its nice and cold over Christmas. Even though it is March, the weather he in Australia is still rather warm. I had to chill my mixture in the fridge multiple times as I was making them because it was getting too soft and difficult to handle. Next time I’ll put the aircon on or make them in the cooler months.

 

Ingredients

170g Unsalted butter – slightly softened.

150g Caster sugar

1 Egg – Room temperature

2 Teaspoons of vanilla extract

280g Plain flour

1/2 Teaspoon baking powder

1/4 Teaspoon of Salt

 

 

IMG_4090.JPG

 

Method

Using an electric mixer (I use a stand mixer) beat the butter and until pale, smooth and creamy. Add half the sugar and beat until combined. Then add the remaining sugar and beat well until the mixture is light and fluffy. Scrape down any mixer from the sides of the bowl.

In a small bowl gently whisk together the egg and vanilla extract. Pour this into your sugar mixture and beat until well combined.

Sift your flour and baking powder into a small bowl and then add the salt. Gradually add the flour to the butter mixture a small amount at a time, making sure your mixer is on low otherwise your flour will go everywhere and it will look like its been snowing all over your kitchen bench!

Once everything is combined turn the mixture out onto your kitchen bench, I put down some baking paper first making it easier to transfer into the fridge to chill. Roll dough out until it is approximately 1/2 cm thick. Place your dough in the fridge to chill. I left mine in the fridge for an hour.

When you are ready to bake pre heat your oven to 160C (fan forced). Remove the dough from the fridge, using a cookie cutter cut into shapes. You can re-roll the remaining dough and keep cutting out cookies until you run out. This is when I realised that making these in the summer probably isn’t ideal. After collecting up all of my “scrap” dough and re rolling, the heat from my hands as well as the heath from the 30Cplus day the dough became very warm and sticky. I had to place the remaining dough back in the fridge for a further half an hour before it was workable again.

Place your cookies onto a lined baking tray and bake in the oven for about 11-12mins. The time it takes to bake your cookies will depend on how big you’ve cut them. I baked the larger cookies for about 11mins, turning half way through and the smaller ones for about 8mins, also turning half way through. Be sure to keep an eye on your cookies, even though you’ve set a timer, they can go from pale to golden to burnt in the blink of an eye!

Remove cookies from the oven and allow to cool on the baking tray for about 5mins. Do not try and remove them when they are fresh from the oven, they will be far too soft. After 5mins transfer them the a cooling rack and allow to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from Soft Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Sallys Baking Addiction

IMG_4108.JPG

 

Icing

1 Cup of icing sugar

1/2 Teaspoon of vanilla extract

2-3 Tablespoons of water (you can also use milk)

Food colouring – I used gel paste

 

Sift icing sugar into a small bowl and add in vanilla extract, food colouring and water. Mix well with a spoon. Once you have mixed everything together you can always add more water or icing sugar to get the desired consistency. For the drizzle icing I added 3 tablespoons of water, fir the solid icing with sprinkles I only added 2. Its up to you, you can make the icing as thick or a thin as you want depending on how you want to decorate you cookies. I found the best way to decorate the cookies is to leave them on the wire cooling rack but make sure you place some baking paper on the counter underneath. That way any icing drips can easily be cleaned away 🙂

IMG_4119.JPG

Still working on the photography aspect of my blog,I can’t wait until winter arrives and we get some more overcast days. It makes for the best lighting for food photography!

I’m having a baking weekend with a friend this weekend, not 100%  what I’m making yet (I’m thinking chocolate cupcakes) but I’ll be sure to post the pics and recipes next week.

Happy Baking 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

