Rocky Road

Last weekend my friend Leah and I had a baking day, I posted about it earlier in the week, click here to see our Chocolate Easter Cupcakes.

We also decided to make rocky road. Normally when I bake things I like to use a recipe, I am getting better at adapting recipes and mixing things up, but I like to have a recipe as a base. So when Leah suggested we just raid her cupboard and throw everything into a bowl, I was slightly out of my comfort zone. But it turned out to be so much fun.

I was having so much fun I completely forgot to make note of the quantities and what ingredients we were using. I won’t be able to post the exact recipe but I’ll list down what we used to give you an idea.

 

Ingredients

Cooking chocolate – Milk and Dark

Marshmallows

Peanuts

Red licorice

Oreos

Mini Eggs

Coconut

 

 

IMG_4225

 

Method

Melt the chocolate – We used a bainmarie, you can melt the chocolate in the microwave, but I prefer the bainmarie method.

Once the chocolate is melted, add in the rest of your ingredients. We chopped the licorice, mini eggs and oreos into smaller pieces before mixing them into the chocolate.

Line a slice tray with baking paper and then gently spoon in your chocolate mixture, spreading it out to all corners of the tray.

Place the tray in the fridge to cool.

That’s it, you’re done. How easy was that??!

It tasted so yum. Not bad for no recipe 🙂

We just used what was in the cupboard and you can do the same. In my opinion rocky road needs chocolate, marshmallows and peanuts – but what else you add is completely up to you.

IMG_4244.JPG

 

I have a particular rocky road recipe I have been making for years, usually around Christmas time. I may have to make it again soon, I have such a craving for rocky road now.

 

Happy Baking 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Rocky Road

  1. The red licorice was an interesting addition. Probably added some chewiness. It is fun just to throw things together but I usually like to have a recipe as a base too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

