March Re-Cap

So here we are at the end of March already, I can’t believe how quickly this year is going. Some times It feels like January was only a week or two away. I for one am super glad its not January, mainly because I don’t think I could go through summer again. Summer in Perth is getting far too hot, so  I’m really happy that things have well and truly started to cool down now that we’re in Autumn.

Now that the weather is cooling down it got me thinking about wearing scarves again, I do love wearing a bright coloured scarf during the cooler months. If you missed my post about scarves you can read it here.

537323_10152685496925697_1250831916_n

 

During March I did a little bit baking and tried to expand my decorating skills using fondant. Up until recently I had been using fondant cutters to cut out shapes such as stars and love hearts to decorate my cupcakes. This month I decided to go ‘free hand’ and I made some cute little fondant carrots to top my carrot cake cupcakes. Starting small was a good idea, as it turns out shaping fondant is a lot more difficult than what you might think, I was getting tired and towards the end my carrots looked a lot like golf tees!

IMG_3701

 

Last month I went to an Envy Jewellery party and made some purchases, and they arrived this month. I love my new necklace so much! K for Kelly and B for Ben… nawww. You can change the charms that go inside the circle. I’m hosting a party in May, so I will be sure to buy some more 🙂

IMG_3739

In super exciting news this month, I finally bought a table lamp for my living room. I bet you’re glad you’re reading this post today – Kelly buys a new lamp, how exciting 😛 It is exciting for me as my last lamp broke well over a year ago. Since then I have been using the over head light which was getting really annoying as it can sometimes be too bright when you’re watching TV. Loving my new lamp, loving the fact it was on sale, not loving the fact the LED globe cost more than the lamp…….

IMG_3682

This year March meant Easter!! I was really happy about this as I have an April birthday and for the last few years my birthday has fallen over the Easter long weekend, this year it was so nice to have Easter in a completely different month. That hasn’t happened for years. Even though Ben and I didn’t give each other any Easter eggs, and my parents have stopped giving out eggs, I still managed to eat A LOT of chocolate over the weekend. My nephews did pretty well too, this was their haul just from my parents, aunty and grand parents. I’m sure they had a stack more at home….

 

FullSizeRender

 

My food photography skills on my DSLR aren’t really improving and it’s beginning to frustrate me. I really feel I need to invest in a tripod. I think I’m doing ok with styling the photo and the angles, but the lighting element of photography is something that I’m really struggling with. I hope that once I have a tripod I can change my shutter speed to let in more light and the tripod will hold the camera steady for me. That’s the plan anyway. These are some of the pics I took this month.

 

Thanks for stopping and for reading my March re-cap. As you can see a rather random month, nothing too exciting (well a part from the new lamp) just a nice chilled month which has been lovely. I’m super excited for April, its my birthday (YAY) I have a few days booked off work, I have a friends 30th birthday to go and several other fun things to look forward too. I’ll be sure to re-cap it all for you at the end of the month.

 

🙂

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “March Re-Cap

    1. Thanks, I’m really glad you like it 🙂 I’m trying to improve my photography skills, I’ve always loved looking at fabulous bright colourful food photos. I really want to see if I can take pics like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t know what you’re talking about – I think your photos look stunning! Congrats on the new lamp too, haha. 😀

    Like

      1. Ah, I see what you mean. I always find the whole lighting thing quite overwhelming but I know it can produce some great photos. Best of luck with your exploits! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

