Birthday Mini Break – Part 2

Hello again and welcome to part 2 of my birthday mini break re cap.

Day 2 started bright and early for me, I woke up at about 5.30am. It was far too early to get out of bed so I tried to get back to sleep. After that failed, I played a few games on my phone and replied to several birthday facebook messages that came through while I was asleep. Once the sun had come up I thought it was a respectable time to get out of bed. It was a cool overcast morning and it seemed perfect for a morning walk along the beach. Ben was far too comfy and warm to get out of bed, so I left him watching cartoons and I went for a walk.

IMG_3948 (2)
Gorgeous morning, People up early fishing

IMG_3947

IMG_3959

IMG_3954
Crystal Clear Water.

First stop for the day was breakfast at the Dunsborough Bakery. Croissant with jam and cream…. well I was on holiday!

IMG_3972

After breakfast we decided to head to the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse which is just a short drive from Dunsborough. Instead of just walking around the base, I thought it would be nice to go on the tour and climb to the top of the lighthouse to check out the views. I’m so glad we did, we leaned a lot about the history of the lighthouse and the keepers that lived there. For example I didn’t know that most lighthouses of that era had three cottages for three different lighthouse keepers and their families. You learn something new every day! The lighthouse is situated high on a cliff overlooking the ocean, so thankfully it was only a short 59step climb to the top. The views were stunning.

IMG_3973
Reminded me of the Round the Twist lighthouse 🙂
IMG_3976
I thought the sky looked pretty epic in this shot
IMG_3979 (2)
Views!

IMG_3982

IMG_3990 (2)
Lighthouse Selfie 🙂

Once we left the lighthouse, we headed to the town of Margaret River which just happens to be one of my favourite places to visit. My family and I have been holidaying down here for years, well before it became the “trendy place to go”. I’m not a big coffee drinker, but Ben is, so we decided to head to Yahava for some coffee. In the same building as Yahava is Temper Temper Chocolate so I was happy – I love chocolate!! Sadly I wasn’t that impressed with the chocolate, it was nice, but I’ve tasted much better. My favourite would still have to be The Margaret River Chocolate Factory. We didn’t stop by there this year, but you can buy their chocolate up in Perth, so its much easier to stock up on.

After our chocolate and coffee we headed further south to the Boranup Karri Forest. One of the most beautiful parts of the state.

IMG_4007

IMG_4008

IMG_4009 (2)
Really big tree
IMG_4039
The car looks so tiny

Last stop of the day was at the Cheeky Monkey for some beer and cider tasting. I’ve never really liked beer, I’ve tried several different ones but have yet to find one I really enjoyed drinking. I am more of a cider and wine kinda girl. We ordered one of the tasting boards, found spot outside and enjoyed an afternoon of tastings and sunshine. Its safe to say, I’m still not a fan of beer, I thoroughly enjoyed the pear and apple cider though 🙂

IMG_4042 (2)
Our tasting board

IMG_4047

IMG_4049
There’s that epic sky again

We then headed back to the hotel for a relaxing evening in, we had dinner in our room again, watched a movie and had another soak in the spa. A busy but really fun day.

We headed back to Perth the following day and had dinner at my parents house with my brother, sister in law and nephews. It was a great way to end my birthday mini break.

I hope you enjoyed my little holiday re cap. If you’re looking for a place to spend your next holiday. Why not come to Western Australia, there is so much to do here!! 🙂

 

One thought on “Birthday Mini Break – Part 2

Leave a Reply

