Choc Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

Firstly let me start with saying, I am so happy with the way these cupcakes and photos turned out. The cupcakes took most of the weekend to make and I must have been photographing them for close to an hour (the frosting even started to melt – it may be autumn here but its not cooling down just yet) but I am so happy with the finished product.

I used the same recipe that I used for my Easter Chocolate Cupcakes however this time I added some fresh strawberries to the batter. Sometimes this this recipe can be too chocolately, the cake has a rich chocolate flavour and if you top it with dark chocolate ganache its even richer. This time I wanted to do something different, so I added chopped strawberries to the batter, used milk chocolate in the ganache and then topped them with cream cheese frosting. OMG they tasted amazing!!!

IMG_4575

Ingredients

1 batch of Death by Chocolate cupcake batter

250g of fresh strawberries (chopped)

 

Method

Make you cupcake batter the night before (or at least several hours before hand)

Preheat your oven to 160C (fan forced)

Add chopped strawberries into the cupcake batter and stir until evenly mixed through.

Fill cupcake cases approximately 3/4 full, allowing room for the cupcakes to rise.

I baked mine (I used all large cases) for 30mins, turning half way through. Normally when I bake these I bake them for about 25mins, however I think the strawberries added a bit more moisture to the mix so they needed a bit longer. The cooking time will vary on how full you fill your cases and also your individual oven. You will know your cupcakes are cooked if I tooth pick comes our clean or they spring back when you gently push the tops.

Allow the cupcakes to cool in the tin for about 5mins, then place on a wire cooling rack until cupcakes are completely cool.

IMG_4545

 

Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients

125g of thickened cream

25g butter

180g of milk chocolate melts

 

Method

Some people like to make their ganache in the microwave. I am not one of these people. Place the cream in a small saucepan and heat until it just starts to boil. Take off the heat and pour over your choc melts and butter. Stir until all of your ingredients are melted. Allow to cool for about 20mins before placing in the fridge.

I didn’t want my ganache too firm as I wanted to be able to spread it out over the cupcakes as a base for the frosting. I kept checking on my ganache about every half an hour to make sure it wasn’t getting too firm and took it out of the fridge when I was happy with it.

Cream Cheese Frosting

For this recipe I used Sarah’s cream cheese frosting that she has on her Citrus and Coconut Cupcakes with Raspberry Swirl Frosting just minus the raspberries on this occasion. I love this frosting so much. Its so creamy and always pipes really well. If you love your frosting and like to pipe a lot of it on to your cakes, you can always double the recipe.

IMG_4499

 

To decorate the cupcakes place a small amount of your milk chocolate ganache on top of your cooled cupcakes. It doesn’t need to look perfect as you’re going to pipe the frosting on top. Pipe on your cream cheese frosting and top with a yummy fresh strawberry.

SO YUM!!!

So there you have it, a super yummy choc strawberry treat. They take a little bit of time to prepare and bake. But they are SOOOOO worth it! I took them into work and people were raving over them. Will be making these again soon that’s for sure….. or I might even try choc raspberry.

 

Happy baking 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “Choc Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

