Corn and Bacon Mini Quiches

I have always had a massive sweet tooth. For as long as I can remember I have always picked chocolate over cheese, sweet biscuits over savoury crackers etc. The same goes for baking, I love making cupcakes,  cookies, cakes and biscuits but very rarely make anything savoury, I thought it was time that changed. A few weeks ago I made some mini quiches to take to a quiz night and they turned out better than I had expected. I was rather impressed with myself. Who knew I could bake savoury things – I sure didn’t.

I read through several recipes and they were all very similar and straight forward and I thought – I can do this! However, making pastry from scratch was a step too far- I didn’t have time for that. Yay for shortcrust pastry sheets straight from the freezer.

 

Corn and Bacon Mini Quiches

 

Ingredients

 

3 sheets of frozen ready-rolled shortcrust pastry

4 eggs

1/4 cup of cream

4 green onions, sliced thinly

250g can of creamed corn

1/2 grated cheese

4 rashes of bacon, chopped into small pieces

 

IMG_4830

 

Method

Pre-Heat oven to 180C fan-forced. Grease two 12-hole round based patty pans. Using a medium (approx 7cm) round cutter to cut out 24 round pieces from the pastry. Press the pastry pieces into the greased pans.

Whisk the eggs, cream and corn in a medium sized jug. Then add the onion and bacon stir to make sure the onion and bacon doesn’t all sink to the bottom.

Pour mixture into your pre prepared pastry cases, making sure to not over fill the cases (some of mine were slightly over full – ooops!!)

Sprinkle cheese on top.

Bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until golden in colour. As I’ve mentioned before my oven has hot and cold spots, so I always make sure to turn my trays half way through to ensure an even bake.

Allow quiches to cool in the trays for 10mins then transfer to a cooling rack. You can eat them warm or cold. They’re super tasty either way.

IMG_4818

 

Recipe adapted from Corn Mini Quiches from taste.com

 

I’m hosting a morning tea over the weekend with some girl friends from high school so I’ve been busy baking today and I can’t wait to post some more recipes and pictures soon.

Photography is slowly improving, I still think I need to get a tripod. I was hoping to get out today and look at some, but my day got away from me. Maybe over the weekend…

 

Until next time.

Happy baking 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

