Top Three Tuesday

Oh hi there! Thanks for stopping by and welcome to this week’s Top Three Tuesday. It turns out I have a bit of a theme happening this week. This week its all about Baking and Cake!! That’s not at all surprising really, considering how much I love baking and cake!! 🙂

 

  1. Saturday Morning Tea/Afternoon Tea

On Saturday morning I hosted a morning tea for a few girls I went to high school with. I hadn’t seen some of them for a few months so it was lovely to have gossip and a catch up. I love hosting morning/afternoon tea as it means I get to use my pretty Kimono cake stand and tea set. On my cake stand is scones, white chocolate and cranberry cookies and Corn and Bacon Mini Quiches

13563587_10157029839550697_1018821819_n

We ended up having so much food  (everyone brought something different) that I messaged my mum after the girls had left and invited her over for afternoon tea to help me eat it all. Mum and dad headed over at about 2pm (the girls left around 12.30) and we spent the afternoon pretty much eating the rest of the food. I literally ate cake all day!!

 

2. Naked Cake

My friend Lisa brought the most fabulous mini naked cakes for morning tea. They were divine. I really need to get the recipe. They were super sweet but OMG SO YUM!!! They were filled an insanely good cherry filling and topped with pistachios and dusted with icing sugar. At the end of the day there was one remaining cake left. Wearing my super cosy winter PJs I sat on the sofa, put on a BBC period costume drama and ate the last of the yummy naked cakes. Perfect Saturday night in. So good.

13565595_10157029839300697_467012191_n

13566205_10157029838545697_1736756342_n

 

3. Scones

Rounding out my top three for the week and keeping with the baking theme… is scones! I baked a batch of scones for my morning tea on Saturday and they turned out so good. I was super impressed. Although I must admit, I’ve yet to stuff up a batch of scones (Touch wood) I have had cupcakes that sunk in the middle, pastry that ended up more like shortbread, biscuits that were raw in the middle and burnt on the outside, but so far I have managed to bake perfect scones every time. I used the traditional method to make these. I’ve never made “Lemonade Scones” but friends have been raving about how easy they are to make and how good they taste. I think I may have to give them a try. I’ll post some more pics and the recipe for the scones I made later in the week. This is just a quick snap from my iPhone.

 

13563561_10157029839695697_191772520_n

 

So thats it for this week’s Top Three Tuesday. Thanks for stopping by.

See you all next week. 🙂

 

One thought on “Top Three Tuesday

Leave a Reply

