Citrus coconut cupcakes with raspberry swirl frosting.

This could be a bold statement, but I’m going to make it anyway….. These are the best cupcakes you will ever make!

I have been making these cupcakes for years and every time I make them they get the same reaction. People LOVE them. I am constantly being asked for the recipe and people seem to go a little bit crazy for them. I have taken these into work several times and my colleagues rave about them. Sadly though I can’t take all the credit for them. The recipe belongs to my friend, Sarah. Several years ago Sarah introduced me to the wonderful world of oil based cupcakes, and I must say, life has never been the same since. lol

IMG_4993

If you haven’t tried oil based cupcakes before, do yourself a favour and make these, or the Death by Chocolate cupcakes I posted several months ago for Easter. Over the last year or so I have made some butter based cupcakes (always willing to try new recipes) but they just aren’t the same. Having the butter as a base makes the cupcakes dry and crumbly. Oil based cupcakes are soft and moist (even after a day or two in the fridge) and have a wonderful texture to them. I must say I feel like a bit of a cupcakes snob now, once you go oil, there’s no going back.

IMG_4984

I would just like to take a moment to talk about how amazing the frosting on these cakes are. Cream cheese – yum. Raspberries – yum. Put them together – pure heaven. I have been known to double the frosting recipe to make sure I have more than enough to go on each cake, plus have some left over. When I made these a few months ago I ended up with a heap of left over frosting, not to worry, I went to my fridge and found some fresh strawberries and raspberries. I mixed these in with the left over  frosting  topped with a some grated dark chocolate and whipped up a super yummy dessert.

The important thing to remember about these cupcakes is that you need to make the batter the day before, or at least a few hours in advance. These cupcakes ended up taking me three days to make. Day 1, make batter. Day 2, bake cakes. Day 3 make frosting and decorate. They may require a little bit of effort and planning, but trust me, they are worth it.

Click here for the recipe.

I feel my photography is getting better, slowly. I still really want to get at tripod, I’ve done a little bit of research but still not really sure what to get,. I’m trying out different settings and set ups for my photos, some work, some don’t. It’s all about trial and error and learning as you go. So that’s what I’m doing. Then one day I’ll look into some editing software…..

Happy Baking 🙂

9 thoughts on “Citrus coconut cupcakes with raspberry swirl frosting.

Leave a Reply

